Why iOS Developers Won’t Buy An iPhone 14

And Why I Am

Steven Curtis
3 min readSep 6, 2022
Photo by Arnel Hasanovic on Unsplash

Great! A new iPhone is launched.

So why don’t iOS developers flock to get a brand new iPhone which can be a great deal faster then their previous phone and boost people’s view of them as they whip out the latest and greatest machine.

Let’s take a look at the opinion of an iOS developer and the new flagship Apple Phone.

Why I’m satisfied with my current phone

I can get by

I don’t have the latest iPhone. I’ve got an iPhone X, and haven’t yet upgraded. It hasn’t caused me any problems in development. I’ve had colleagues that have used their iPhone for development going back as far as the iPhone 7.

It has rather amazed me for some time that iOS developers aren’t usually given a device with their job and QA are, but that’s a thought for another day.

It really makes me wonder if Apple do have a problem with innovation if newer iPhones don’t have a fantastic feature that is only available on newer phones (and isn’t easily reproducible using the simulator). I guess FaceID, but isn’t that a 2016 feature?

It doesn’t matter which phone you use for development

--

--